News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Wexner Center Announces Artist Residency Awards for 2018–19

The Wexner Center for the Arts at Ohio State University has revealed the artists invited to participate in its 2018–19 residency program. Each year, a total of $200,000 is invested in the work of contemporary artists across the center’s three program areas: visual arts, performing arts, and film/video. In addition to financial support, the artists receive access to the organization’s technical and professional resources and facilities.

The recipients of this year’s awards are Edmund de Waal (visual arts), Mark Lomax II (performing arts), Barbara Hammer (film/video), and Bill Morrison (film/video). They were chosen by the center’s curators and director based on their commitment to exploring and advancing contemporary art.

“From the very inception of the Wex nearly thirty years ago, a generous Artist Residency Award program has been at the core of our mission,” said director Sherri Geldin. “This sustained commitment to artistic exploration and practice permeates the very ethos of the institution across all creative disciplines, and has spawned remarkable work over the years.”