The Whitney Museum of American Art

Whitney Museum Announces Artist List for 2017 Biennial

The Whitney Museum announced today its full list of participating artists in the 2017 Whitney Biennial. Among the sixty-three participants, ranging from emerging to well-established artists, are Jo Baer, William Pope.L, Dana Schutz, Henry Taylor, Jordan Wolfson, and Anicka Yi.

Curated by Christopher Y. Lew and Mia Locks, the 2017 exhibition is the first to be held at the museum’s new downtown location. Coinciding with an election year for the first time in two decades, the biennial will focus on the formation of the self and the individual’s place in a turbulent society. Scott Rothkopf, the Whitney’s chief curator and deputy director for programs, told the New York Times that “the discourse turns to who we are as a nation.”

Full List of Participating Artists:

Zarouhie Abdalian
Basma Alsharif
Jo Baer
Eric Baudelaire
Robert Beavers
Larry Bell
Matt Browning
Susan Cianciolo
Mary Helena Clark
John Divola
Celeste Dupuy-Spencer
Rafa Esparza
Kevin Jerome Everson
GCC (Nanu al-Hamad, Abdullah al-Mutairi, Aziz Alqatami, Barrak Alzaid, Khalid al-Gharaballi, Amal Khalaf, Fatima al-Qadiri, and Monira al-Qadiri)
Oto Gillen
Samara Golden
Casey Gollan and Victoria Sobel
Irena Haiduk
Lyle Ashton Harris
Tommy Hartung
Porpentine Charity Heartscape
Sky Hopinka
Shara Hughes
Aaron Flint Jamison
KAYA (Kerstin Brätsch and Debo Eilers)
Jon Kessler
James N. Kienitz Wilkins
Ajay Kurian
Deana Lawson
An-My Lê
Leigh Ledare
Dani Leventhal
Tala Madani
Park McArthur
Harold Mendez
Carrie Moyer
Ulrike Müller
Julien Nguyen
Tuan Andrew Nguyen
Raúl de Nieves
Aliza Nisenbaum
Occupy Museums (Arthur Polendo, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Kenneth Pietrobono, Noah Fischer, and Tal Beery)
Pope.L a.k.a. William Pope.L
Postcommodity (Raven Chacon, Cristóbal Martínez, and Kade L. Twist)
Puppies Puppies
Asad Raza
Jessi Reaves
John Riepenhoff
Chemi Rosado-Seijo
Cameron Rowland
Beatriz Santiago Muñoz
Dana Schutz
Cauleen Smith
Frances Stark
Maya Stovall
Henry Taylor
Torey Thornton
Leslie Thornton and James Richards
Kaari Upson
Kamasi Washington
Leilah Weinraub
Jordan Wolfson
Anicka Yi