News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Winners of 2017 Fredrik Roos Art Prize Announced

The Fredrik Roos Art Prize—which awards about $68,000 to artists thirty-five years of age or younger, one of Sweden’s largest grants for artists—has been given to Oskar Hult, Jonas Silfversten Bergman, and Josefine Östberg Olsson. Each artist will receive a grant of about $23,000 and will be featured in a group exhibition at Moderna Museet Malmö. The recipients were selected from a short list of ten graduating art students; the jury was made up by the Fredrik Roos Foundation, together with Daniel Birnbaum, Ann-Sofi Noring, and Iris Müller-Westermann from Moderna Museet.

Oskar Hult is a graduate of the Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm, Jonas Silfversten Bergman is a graduate of the Umeå Academy of Fine Arts, and Josefine Östberg Olsson is a graduate of the Valand Academy in Gothenburg.