Aspen Art Museum

Winners of 2017 National Medals for Library and Museum Service Announced

The Institute of Museum and Library Services announced the recipients of this year’s national medals honoring museums and libraries for their service to the community. Out of the ten awardees, two were museums: the Aspen Art Museum in Colorado and the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum in Wisconsin.

“These institutions play a critical role as community catalysts and provide vital resources that drive economic development, foster community well-being, and spark neighborhood revitalization,” Kathryn K. Matthew, director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services, said. “We are proud of all ten museums and libraries and celebrate their ongoing commitment to their communities.”

The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Washington, DC, this summer. StoryCorps—a national nonprofit dedicated to recording, preserving, and sharing the stories of Americans—will visit each recipient to document stories from the community.

The 2017 National Medal for Museum and Library Service recipients are as follows:

Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (Alaska State Museums) (Juneau, Alaska)
Aspen Art Museum (Aspen, Colorado)
Cedar Rapids Public Library (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center (Skokie, Illinois)
Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum (Wausau, Wisconsin)
Long Beach Public Library (Long Beach, California)
Peralta Hacienda Historical Park (Oakland, California)
Richland Library (Columbia, South Carolina)
University of Minnesota Libraries (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
Waterville Public Library (Waterville, Maine)