News Register for our weekly news digest here.

Winners of 2018 National Magazine Awards Announced

The recipients of the 2018 National Magazine Awards for Print and Digital Media were announced in New York on Tuesday. New York magazine and the New Yorker both won three awards, and GQ won two. Aperture magazine, the international quarterly specializing in photography, has been honored for the second time. This was the fifty-third presentation of the awards.

Known as the Ellies, after the copper reproductions of Alexander Calder’s stabile Elephant that are presented to each winner, the National Magazine Awards are sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors in association with the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

This year, fifty-eight media organizations were honored as finalists in twenty categories, including two new categories, social media and digital innovation. Sixteen print and digital publications won awards.

Four publications received the most prestigious honor for general excellence. The four magazines were the New Yorker for the news, sports, and entertainment category; T: The New York Times Style Magazine, which won its first general excellence award, for the service and lifestyle category; San Francisco for the special interest category; and Aperture for the literature, science, and politics category. “Each specially themed issue of Aperture demonstrated the important role the magazine plays as an advocate for contemporary photography,” the prize jury said in a statement.

“Thorough reporting, entertaining writing, striking photographs, elegant design, dedicated journalists, loyal readers—what we saw today at the Ellies lunch was the best of magazine media,” Sid Holt, the chief executive of the American Society of Magazine Editors, said on Tuesday. “Whether you’re looking for an analysis of the latest White House drama or instructions on how to roast a chicken, Americans know where to find it, and that’s in print magazines and on magazine websites and social feeds.”

The entire list of awardees can be found on the American Society of Magazine Editors website.