New York

“The Terence Davies Trilogy” and “Zappa”

"New Directors/New Films"

The Terence Davies Trilogy is a film in three parts, written and directed by Terence Davies. It tells of the effect of Catholicism on the life and death of Robert Tucker, a working-class man from Liverpool. Part One, “Children,” is told in a series of extended flashbacks showing us young Robby as he makes his way through the painful coercions of a Catholic education, an ordeal compounded by the brutality of his ailing father. Sullen and alienated, he is almost totally dependent on his mother, who offers him refuge from the malicious taunts of his classmates. Part Two, “Madonna and Child,” transports Robert into middle age, where we find him still leaving Mum in the morning and returning home to her at night (with a few detours to the local gay bars). The alternation between the routine of Tucker’s office job and heavily stylized erotic tableaux makes for a baroque but strict conflation,

to keep reading

Artforum print subscribers have full access to this article. If you are a subscriber, sign in below.

Not registered for Register here.

SUBSCRIBE NOW for only $50 a year—65% off the newsstand price—and get the print magazine plus full online access to this issue and our archive.*

Order the PRINT EDITION of the Summer 1984 issue for $17 or the ONLINE EDITION for $5.99.

* This rate applies to U.S. domestic subscriptions.