Los Angeles

Stephen Prina

The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA)

In Excerpts from the 9 Symphonies of L. van Beethoven, Für zwei Pianoforte zu vier Händen, Transcription pour Piano à 2 mains, and Für Klavier zu 4 Händen, 1983–85, Stephen Prina continues an investigation into the representation of cultural artifacts. Underlying this investigation are the questions of what constitutes “completeness,” and what is the point at which completeness is exhausted. To explore these questions, Prina in effect produces a palimpsest of the original, often by the manipulation of secondary sources.

The piece is an arrangement of Beethoven's nine symphonies using versions by four 19th-century arrangers. Lorna Eder and Gaylord Mowrey performed the West Coast premiere of the piece as part of the “Striking Distance” exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Art. Prina juxtaposes four lyric transcriptions for solo piano by Franz Liszt with pedagogical reductions for piano,

to keep reading

Artforum print subscribers have full access to this article. If you are a subscriber, sign in below.

Not registered for artforum.com? Register here.

SUBSCRIBE NOW for only $50 a year—65% off the newsstand price—and receive the print magazine plus full online access to this issue and our archive.*

Order the PRINT EDITION of the September 1988 issue for $17 or the ONLINE EDITION for $5.99.

* This rate applies to U.S. domestic subscriptions.